FORT WORTH, DALLAS TRAFFIC TICKET ATTORNEYS
THEY WRITE IT - WE FIGHT IT!
You got a ticket, went to the clerk and paid the fine and assumed everything was done and over with. Unfortunately, this may start a vicious cycle that can cost you thousands of extra dollars and untold frustration due to the Texas Driver Responsibility Program.
We see clients all the time that have paid a ticket, been accessed a surcharge that they either did not know of or could not pay, gets pulled over and gets a new citation for driving whith a suspended license which may result in both a new surcharge and a license suspension. The cycle starts over and you get further and further behind. We can help stop the cycle but first you need to undestand how the sytem works.
WHAT IS THE DRIVING RESPONSIBILITY PROGRAM
The Texas Driver Responsibility Program assigns points to moving violations classified as Class C misdemeanors committed after September 1, 2003. For each conviction, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will assign points to your license as follows:
- Two points for a moving conviction in Texas or another state, except violations for speeding less than 10 percent above the posted speed limit not committed in a school zone; and
- Three points for a moving conviction in Texas or another state that resulted in an accident.
Moving violations are defined as “an act committed in connection with the operation of a motor vehicle on a public street or highway, which constitutes a hazard to traffic and is prohibited by state law or city ordinance.” Some moving violations do not result in points, for example, speeding violations with an alleged speed of less than 10% over the posted speed limit. Points remain on your record for three years. After the three year period, the points are removed.
If you accumulate 6 or more points during any three-year span, you will be assessed a surcharge of $100 for the first 6 points and $25 for each additional point. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) should notify you if you have been given a fifth point by sending a notice to the address on file with DPS.
It is important to remember that points are only accessed after a conviction. If the case is dismissed, either outright, after successful completion of deferred disposition or after successful completion of a driver's safety course you will not get any points from the ticket.
Click here for a list of moving violations.
WHAT ARE SURCHARGES?
Surcharges are apart of the Texas Driver Responsibility Program whereby the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will access a fee based on an accumulation of points or upon convictions of certain offenses. Surcharges are in addition to any other fines, fees or administrative actions, and are cumulative.
Surcharges can be accessed in two ways: (1) an accumulation of points; and (2) based on a conviction for certain offenses.
- Accumulation of Points. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) assesses a surcharge every year in which you have six or more points on your driving record.
$100 for the first six points on a driver record.
$25 for each additional point after six.
- Conviction Based Surcharges. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) access an annual surcharge for three years for the following violations:
|No Driver's License||$100/year||$300|
|Driving While License Invalid (DWLI)||$250/year||$750|
|No Insurance (FMFR)||$250/year||$750|
|Driving While Intoxicated (1st)||$1,000.00/year||$3,000|
|Driving While Intoxicated (2+)||$1,500.00/year||$4,500|
|Driving While Intoxicated (BAC .16+)||$2,000.00/year||$6,000|
Failure to pay the surcharges within 30 days after a notice is sent by the Texas Department of Public Safety will result in the revocation of your Texas driving privileges until the surcharges and any related costs are paid.
Like points, conviction based surcharges are only accessed upon a conviction. If the case is dismissed, either outright, after successful completion of deferred disposition or after successful completion of a driver's safety course you will not get any surcharges from the ticket.
HOW WE CAN HELP AVOID POINTS AND DEAL WITH SURCHARGES
Our experienced traffic ticket attorneys can help you avoid convictions, which will avoid both points and surcharges. If you have already been accessed surchrges that you cannot pay the surcharges in full or make the minimum payments, we can help you get you an occupational license and/or apply for the indigency program which will reduce your surcharges if your qualify.
Click here to check your license eligibility. You will need your driver's license number, your date of birth and the last four of your social security number.
Click here to check and pay your surcharges. You will need your driver's license numver of Texas Idenification number, your date of birth and the zip code associated with your driver's license number or Texas identification number.
Questions surcharges or points? Schedule a Free, Confidential Case Evaluation with one of our award-winning traffic ticket attorneys.
If you have received a traffic citation or other class C warrant in Fort Worth, Arlington, Dallas or one of the surrounding cities, an experienced traffic ticket attorney at Hawkins & Walker, PC is ready to help you fight to keep your record clean.
Call 817.877.3355 or click the contact button below to start fighting your ticket now.